GPT-4o input costs $0 per million tokens on YUNWU API’s free trial — but after that, you pay per-use with no per-token rates publicly listed, which makes cost comparison against Direct API or OpenRouter harder than it should be. This review digs into the actual pricing structure, free tier limits, hidden overhead, and whether this relay makes sense for Chinese developers in 2026.
Pricing Breakdown
YUNWU API positions itself as a pay-per-use relay with instant activation and no monthly commitment. The platform data confirms a free trial is available (Price/month: $0, free_trial: True), but the exact per-token or per-million rates for each model are not specified in the data. This is a significant gap for developers who need to budget per-request costs.
| Pricing Dimension | YUNWU API | OpenRouter (context) |
|---|---|---|
| Free Trial | Yes ($0) | Yes ($1 credit) |
| Per-Million Rates | Not specified | Listed per model |
| Min Recharge (CNY) | Not specified | $5 minimum |
| Batch Discounts | Not specified | None |
| Hidden Fees | Not specified | None |
| Bottom line: YUNWU API’s pricing is opaque beyond the free trial. Without per-token rates or minimum top-up amounts, it’s impossible to compare cost-per-request against Direct API or OpenRouter. |
Free Trial: What You Get
The free trial is listed as $0 per month, but the platform data does not specify whether it requires a credit card, how many requests are included, or which models are available during the trial. This is a critical missing detail for developers who want to test before committing. Key takeaways:
- Free trial exists but no card requirement or request cap is documented.
- Without this info, developers risk unexpected charges after trial ends.
Payment Methods and Recharge
YUNWU API supports Alipay and WeChat Pay — both standard for Chinese users. However, the minimum recharge amount in CNY is not specified in the data. This is a common pain point: some relays require high minimum top-ups that lock in users. Key takeaways:
- Payment methods are China-friendly.
- Missing minimum recharge amount could mean hidden minimums.
Hidden Fees and Overhead
The platform data shows no hidden fees or batch discounts. The latency is 904ms, which is reasonable for a relay, but the speed rating is only 3.5/5 — suggesting occasional throttling or queue delays. No per-request overhead fee is documented, but the lack of per-token rates means you can’t verify if the relay adds a markup. Key takeaways:
- No batch discounts or volume pricing available.
- Latency of 904ms is acceptable but not best-in-class.
Pros & Cons
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Direct connection in China — no VPN required | Limited model selection (~22 variants) |
| Flexible pay-as-you-go pricing | No multimodal support |
| Instant activation after payment | Less established than competitors |
| Quick configuration changes | No per-token rates publicly listed |
Verdict
YUNWU API works as a basic relay for Chinese developers who need direct access to GPT-4o, Claude 3.5 Sonnet, and Gemini 2.0 Flash without VPN. The free trial is a plus, but the absence of per-token rates, minimum recharge amounts, and batch discounts makes cost forecasting impossible. If you need predictable pricing or volume discounts, look elsewhere. For casual use or testing, the free trial is worth a shot.
FAQ
Q: Does YUNWU API require a credit card for the free trial? A: The platform data does not specify. Assume no card is required until proven otherwise. Q: What is the minimum recharge amount in CNY? A: Not specified in the data. Contact support or check the dashboard after signup. Q: Are there batch discounts or volume pricing? A: No batch discounts or volume pricing are documented in the platform data. Q: What models are available on the free trial? A: The data lists GPT-4o, GPT-4 Turbo, Claude 3.5 Sonnet, Claude 3 Haiku, Gemini 2.0 Flash, and DeepSeek V3, but does not confirm which are free. Q: How does YUNWU API compare to OpenRouter for Chinese users? A: YUNWU API offers direct connection without VPN and supports Alipay/WeChat Pay, while OpenRouter requires a VPN and offers per-model pricing with a $1 free credit.
Data provenance: any figures from hands-on checks are author-reported and tested on the recorded date. Independent verification is unavailable unless a source is linked.